Put the lime in the coconut…

Since my 21st birthday, making cocktails has been one of my favorite hobbies. Usually I stick with classic cocktails, but occasionally I invent my own. This weekend I picked up a bottle of Cruzan Key Lime Rum on my walk home, invited some friends over, and my “Loconut” (a crazy good combination of lime and coconut) cocktail was born.

IMG_9476

If you don’t like coconut, don’t worry: the cream of coconut just adds a creamy taste and froth. The tonic water adds a slight sweetness. My roommate Lena says that it tastes like key lime pie in a glass! Dusting the rim with graham cracker crumbs and topping the drink with a dollop of lime whipped cream would make this drink even better. Go easy though, folks, because this drink is deliciously easy to toss back.

IMG_9477

The “Loconut”

1 oz. gin
1.5 oz. Cruzan Key Lime rum (or the brand of your choice)
1 oz. lime juice
1 oz. cream of coconut
Tonic water

Mix gin, rum, lime juice and cream of coconut in a cocktail shaker.

Pour into a martini glass and top with tonic water (just eyeball it).

Add a thick slice of lime to the glass and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Put the lime in the coconut…

Leave a Reply

