Doin’ the Tea-quila Twist

Life has been busy lately. I started my last semester of college a month ago and time is flying by. Still, I’ve managed to make some time for friends and fun. My roommate and I hosted a back-to-school party a few weeks ago and I, of course, made cocktails for our guests. The weather has been so temperamental and the day of the party brought a sticky, unpleasant heat. Why doesn’t DC understand that it’s September?!

This drink, which I call the Tea-quila Twist, was the perfect way to cool down.

I know that tequila is not everyone’s cup of tea (Get it? I’ll see myself out.), but in this drink, the spirit is hardly discernible thanks to sweetened mint tea and a splash of lime juice.

What’s better than sipping on a glass of tart, sweet and spiked Southern tea? Drink up and cool down!

P.S. If you live above the Mason-Dixon line and it’s already freezing, I can’t help you. But come back in a few months, when I’m sure I’ll be making plenty of hot drinks!

Just a side note: I am by no means recommending Jose Cuervo – it’s not very good tequila – but I’m a poor college student, people. Cut me some slack!

IMG_0965

Tea-quila Twist

Makes one cocktail
Bigelow Plantation Mint black tea or other brand, sweetened to your liking and refrigerated
1 shot tequila
1 lime
Ice
Delightful highball glasses

Squeeze juice of 1/2 lime into a highball glass.

Add ice to fill half of glass.

Pour in a shot of tequila and then fill the glass with cold mint tea.

Garnish with a sprig of mint and/or a slice of lime. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

